Giornata della Memoria

On this day I can only repeat what I wrote a year ago. When will we ever learn?

From London to Longoio (and Lucca and beyond) Part One

In the summer of 2001 my Honda Transalp bike and I found ourselves near that most splendid of Polish cities: Cracow. Meeting up with a group of bikers at a campsite a little way outside the city I compared notes and one of the bikers said “we’re quite near Oświęcim”.

That name, translated in German is Auschwitz, and, as any sentient human knows, it is the site of one of the most horrible killing machines in the history of (in)humanity.

The following day I visited both Auschwitz and Birkenau. I climbed up into the entrance watchtower made famous in the film “Schindler’s List”. No-one else was there. I looked out onto to the vast flatness of the camp – most of the barracks had vanished but their foundations remained to show how huge the camp had been. In the far right-hand corner I could make out the mangled ruins of…

View original post 915 more words

Leave a Reply

