A Dollop of Chestnuts outside Dolif

I don’t know if roast chestnut sellers are still commonly seen in London’s streets as winter deepens. Here chestnut feasts, or castagnate, are a communal event from October to December and truly add a seasonal touch. They may involve a whole village, as at one of the best ones at Lupinaia, or just be a stall set up by a local voluntary association, like the Red Cross or Animal rescue.

During a recent visit to that neo-Woolworth’s store at Gallicano, now called “Dolif” but once known as “Stefan” and described in my post at https://longoio2.wordpress.com, I noted a merry gathering seated on benches by the store’s car park.

11232014 218

Necci or castanaccio (chestnut flour pancakes):

11232014 220

frittelle – served either with ricotta cheese or nutella – (chestnut flour pancake fritters):

11232014 221

and mondine (roasted chestnuts), were all available, washed down with vin brulé if one wanted. Money went to the local sports association.

11232014 217

 I like these seemingly spontaneous events in Italy. They all make hum-drum activities like buying a light-bulb or a pair of socks less boring. What spontaneous event will I come across today I wonder? At least it’s not spontaneously raining as I step outside my autumnally-coloured dwelling!

 

 

One thought on “A Dollop of Chestnuts outside Dolif

  1. Chestnuts are really an amazingly versatile fruit of the chestnut tree abundant in this part of the world there are castagne these are used for all of the above and stuffing meats for Christmas and marroni which make those delicious marron glaces which I remember my Babbo having a go in making them at home as they are rather pricey they were very edible I would like to have a go but first I must source my marrons! It seems that James 1 imported or thought he did chestnut trees but in fact these were the wrong variety just horse chestnut trees which produce the non edible conquers every Autumn by the same token he also imported the wrong silk worm food the red mulberry instead of the silkworm favourite the white mulberry as can be seen in front of Charlton House residence of his son Prince Henry the only splendid Jacobean House in South East London. Yes indeed you do see the chestnuts roasted in central London but it has to be very much colder it reminds of Victorian times they are indeed warming but I have seen a peanut cobb nut roaster these are the sweet candied type similar to the ones you see at fairs and he is near Tower Bridge which I think is quite unique.

Leave a Reply

