Drowned

I recently received a message from the Secretary of Bagni Di Lucca’s unitre university of the third age asking me to propose a subject for this year’s session. I literally drew one out of a hat: Thomas Linley an English composer in the duchy of Tuscany . Amazingly yesterday I found myself staring at this prodigy’s portrait in the Dulwich gallery in south London , a place I knew well since I’d been schooled at the nearby college and indeed knew the delightful Linley family portraits painted by Gainsborough very well.

The weather was wet outside and as I gazed at the hopeful Thomas I was saddened at the thought that this English Mozart was stupidly drowned in a boating accident at the age of only 22. what a tragedy for English music I mused!

Linleyyounger

Leave a Reply

